Jason Chaffetz might not finish his term

America's Watchtower

 Yesterday Jason Chaffetz, citing his desire to be back home with his family, announced he was not going to run for reelection in 2018 and today we are learning that he might not even finish his term.

  Here is more:

U.S. Representative Jason Chaffetz, the Republican chairman of a House committee with broad investigative powers, said on Thursday that it is possible he could leave office before his term finishes next year, The Wall Street Journal reported.

“My future plans are not yet finalized, but I haven’t ruled out the possibility of leaving early,” Chaffetz told the Journal a day after the Utah congressman announced he would not run for re-election in 2018.

Chaffetz’s staff in Washington, D.C., and in Utah did not immediately respond to requests for comment.

In Utah, officials have begun running informal scenarios on how and when to hold a special election should Chaffetz resign, but…

View original post 201 more words

About Brittius

Direct Descendant of, Roman General, and Consul of Rome, BRITTIUS, of the Imperial Roman Army.
This entry was posted in Global Situation. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Jason Chaffetz might not finish his term

  1. ahuelon says:

    I wonder what the real story is. I sense there is more to his decision. I will hate to see him go. He comes across as honest. Maybe D.C. is just turning his stomach.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Brittius says:

      I can only speak from my own experience as a retired cop, and there is, a lot of stress on the family and lack of any appreciable quality of life, because of the fact that when you are seriously engaged in helping people, it consumes all of your time and energy. I came close to being divorced a handful of times because of working non-stop, all hours, every weekend, every holiday, and missed every birthday, every anniversary, every school recital, and every function including a couple of funerals that I really should have attended but the Job, came first.
      After I retired (1998), I sat at the kitchen table for six months twiddling my thumbs, and rehashing a career, questioning if I could have done it better. It took almost a full year for me to turn human again. When I heard of Chaffetz, I thought of it and all of the questions and feelings of loss, returned. Let him enjoy his life with his family.

      Liked by 1 person

      • ahuelon says:

        I hear you. I have a son who was a career cop. He retired because he was burned out. He and his wife moved across the Cascade mountains in WA state to be near their two daughters, and he is now a Marshall in a county court house with Monday through Friday, 8 to 5 hours and he feels like he is on vacation every single day. He is getting to enjoy his almost three grandkids. God, Family and Country is his matra.

        Liked by 1 person

What's your, 2 Cents? Spit it out:

